The Anne Frank Humanitarian Award

The opposite of love is not hate, it is indifference. The opposite of faith is not heresy, it is indifference. And the opposite of life is not death, it is indifference. Because of indifference, one dies before one actually dies.Elie Wiesel

Please join us and our guest speakers for an Award Presentation and Dessert Reception to honor the recipients of the 2023 Anne Frank Humanitarian Award


The Florida Holocaust Museum
55 Fifth Street South
St. Petersburg, Florida 33701

Please RSVP to Program Coordinator Susan Ballinger
727.820.0100, ext. 250 or
by May 1st with your name, school, county,
and number of guests (up to 2)

Hillsborough and Pasco County Celebration
Tuesday, May 16
Doors open at 5:00 pm
Museum tour 5:30 pm
Program begins at 6:30 pm
Guest Speaker: Caitlyn Traxler, 2022 AHFA Recipient,
Manatee School for the Arts

Hillsborough and Pasco County Schools Keynote Speaker:
2010 AFHA Recipient
Reilly Dabbs

Pinellas, Manatee and Sarasota County Celebration
Tuesday, May 17
Doors open at 5:00 pm
Museum tour 5:30 pm
Program begins at 6:30 pm
Guest Speaker: Mykenzi Davis-Cowart, 2022 AHFA Recipient
Boca Ciega High School

Sarasota, Manatee and Pasco County Schools Keynote Speaker:
2010 AFHA Recipient
Reilly Dabbs

Dessert will be served
Suggested attire: neat casual

The Anne Frank Humanitarian Award, established in 2001, honors outstanding humanitarian efforts by high school juniors in public and private schools in Pinellas, Pasco, Hillsborough, Sarasota, and Manatee counties.

Principals and guidance counselors recommend students for this prestigious award who have made a conscious decision to better the lives of other individuals or groups both inside and outside of school activities.

These students are recognized both at their schools as well as at the Museum. Legislators, educators, family, and friends are invited to join the Museum in honoring these students.

The Florida Holocaust Museum’s award has the endorsement of the Anne Frank House in New York. 


Anne Frank Humanitarian Award Committee

Chair: Traci Klein
Honorary Co-Chair: Gayle Sierens
Founder: Irene Weiss
Hillsborough County
Co-Chairs: Vicki Weissman and Lauren Fleischman
Jennifer Cassidy, Renee Dabbs, Amy Daner,
Patricia Davis, Janet Knust, Jessica Foreman,
Meral Ginsberg, Kim Gonzales, Donna Huneycutt,
Kathleen Nightlinger, Stacy Paree, Jody Rappaport,
Rose Rosen, Hillary Rosenberg, Amanda Saft,
Melinda Sheer, Jeanette Sosa, Michelle Weinstock,
Deborah White


Pasco County
Chair: Mary Rhinehardt
Tara McNulty, Nancy Paikoff, Anna Saffren
Pinellas County
Barbara Baccari, Marcy Daniels, Scott Daniels,
Deborah Dunn, Dr. Bruce Epstein, Harry Heuman,
Jackie Kaner, Debbie Lieberman, Kathy Lowenstein,
Nancy Maza, Lois Pardoll, Sandra Plevin, 
Toni Rinde, Sue Rosenbluth, Ruth Ross,
Stacy Sher, Jody Sherman, Ellyn Shriber,
Thomas Smith, Debbie Towe, Renee Walter,
Claire Yogman


Manatee and Sarasota Counties
Chair: Bette Zaret

For information on the Anne Frank Humanitarian Award program, please contact Susan Ballinger by email or call (727) 820-0100 ext. 250.

It’s a wonder I haven’t abandoned all my ideals, they seem so absurd and impractical. Yet I cling to them because I still believe, in spite of everything, that people are truly good at heart.Anne Frank, July 15, 1944

Support the Anne Frank Humanitarian Award program

Anne Frank Humanitarian Award recipients each receive a Florida Holocaust Museum Family Membership and two guest passes. Family Memberships are valued at $85, and guest passes are valued at $32.

If you would like to support the Anne Frank Humanitarian Award program by underwriting a Family Membership or guest passes for AFHA recipients, please visit the Donate Now page. Add to the comments section that you would like the donation be made to The Anne Frank Humanitarian Award program.

Thank you for your support.

How wonderful is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world.Anne Frank

2022 Anne Frank Humanitarian Awards

Presenting Sponsor: